Vault Of Evil

British Horror fiction

  • Pages

  • Vault on WordPress

    Plenty of Previous ...

    link to New English Library


    link to Fontana

    link to Morbid Mayflowers

    link to Pan horrors

    link to Panther Horror

    link to Sordid Sphere

    link to terribletandems

    link to Terror Takeaways

    link to Gruesome Cargoes

    link to Gregory Pendennis Library Of Black Sorcery

  • Subscribe

  • Vintage Horror Anthologies

  • Publishers/ editors

  • Top Posts

  • Them as does evil have been …..

  • Meta

Dennis Wheatley – A Century Of Horror Stories

Posted by demonik on September 2, 2007

Dennis Wheatley (ed.) – A Century Of Horror Stories (Hutchinson, 1935)


Detail from the cover

Introduction – Dennis Wheatley

Algernon Blackwood – Ancient Sorceries
H. T. W. Bousfield – The Unknown Island
Margaret Irwin – The Earlier Service
Guy Endore – Lazarus Returns
L. A. G. Strong – Breakdown
Evelyn Waugh – The Man Who Liked Dickens
Mrs. Oliphant – The Open Door
Augustus Muir – The Reptile
Saki – The Music On The Hill
F. Tennyson Jesse – The Canary
Arthur Machen – The Great God Pan
H. G. Wells – The Red Room
R. H. Barham – The Leech Of Folkestone
Ex Private X (A. M. Burrage) – Smee
Ex Private X (A. M. Burrage) – One Who Saw
Francis Isles – Dark Journey
E. W. Hornung – The Fate Of Faustina
Martin Armstrong – The Pipe-Smoker
William Younger – The Angelus
Edgar Allan Poe – The Case Of M. Valdemar
Michael Joseph – A Glass Of Milk
Blanche Bane Kuder – From What Strange Land
Honore de Balzac – El Verdugo
Richard Hughes – Poor Man’s Inn
E. M. Winch – A La Tartare
Sir Hugh Clifford – The Ghoul
F. Marion Crawford – The Dead Smile
T. F. Powys – The House With The Echo
A. E. Coppard – Arabesque: The Mouse
Alec Waugh – The Last Chukka
John Metcalfe – Mr. Meldrum’s Mania
Wilkie Collins – A Terribly Strange Bed
Theodore Drieser – The Hand
Thomas Burke – The Bird
M. R. James – The Treasure Of Abbot Thomas
Guy de Maupassant – Vendetta
Ambrose Bierce – An Occurrence At Owl Creek Bridge
James Hilton – The Mallet
Hugh Walpole – The Silver Mask
Bram Stoker – The Judges House
Mark Channing – The Feet
Louis Golding – The Call Of The Hand
Bernard Bromage – The House
Walter De La Mare – All Hallows
C. E. Montague – The First Blood Sweep
John Russell – The Fourth Man
John Russell – The Price Of The Head
John Russell – The Lost God
William Hope Hodgson – The Island Of The Ud
William Hope Hodgson – The Whistling Room
William Hope Hodgson – The Derelict
Dennis Wheatley – The Snake

1024 pages. They don’t make ’em like this any more …
Wheatley reproduced several of the stories over two Arrow paperbacks, “Shafts Of Fear” and “Quiver Of Horror” for Arrow in 1964, adding two new Charles Birkin stories and his own A Life For A Life.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: